I’m So Tired

Warning – Whinny Post Alert!!!!

I’m so tired.  And I’m tired of saying, “I’m so tired”.  And my husband and friends are tired of hearing “I’m so tired”.  But I’m so tired.

I just can’t seem to recover.  I have been exhausted since my second trimester.  So basically, I have been exhausted for a year now.  No one tells you that.  And it’s not that I don’t ever sleep.  I sleep.  But not the same quality of sleep I had before.  I don’t think I’ve just woken up on my own since I gave birth.  There is always something or someone waking me up.  Admittedly that the “someone” is the most adorable human being ever – but nonetheless, waking up to his screams is quite a jarring experience.

The other day I was complaining explaining to someone that I feel like I work two full time jobs.  I work all day and then come home and try to be a good mom.  Then I physically drop at 9:30.  Most nights I don’t even have enough energy to read a couple of pages of a great book I’m trying to read.  This morning I noticed that my eyebrows are out of control.  I just haven’t had time to pluck.  My house is a mess and dirty.  I haven’t updated John Patrick’s album since he was three months old.  And I’m sure most of my friends think I’m a big selfish hermit because I never call anyone anymore.

Did I mention that I’m so tired?  Ok, and admittedly, feeling sorry for myself.  Believe me, I KNOW that I’m not the only working and tired mom out there.  But how do you all do it?  And am I ever going to feel rested again?  Sometimes I just daydream about checking into a fancy hotel, drawing the curtains shut, turning the air conditioner down really low, and sleeping for a good 14 hours.  In this dream, I wake up on my own because I have had enough sleep and it’s a slow process, not a jumping out of bed and running to get a bottle process.  But then I realize that even one night away from my pumpkin would make me miserable because I would miss him so much.  So I guess it just leaves me with…

I’m so tired.

Jen

6 Comments

Filed under Baby, Infant, Sleep, Work

6 responses to “I’m So Tired

  1. mommaontherun

    Hello. You have a great deal of company. As the main caregiver and working full-time, I am sure that you make hundreds of decisions a day.

    I made an expensive compromis for the cleanliness of my house. We hired someone that comes in every other week. No more vaccuuming. No more dusting. I just have to straighten for the cleaners to come which is a good habit anyway. Working full time and having a second child — something had to give. One of my triggers is a dirty house — so we got a cleaning lady. One thing of my list…

  2. I know you would miss your little one but it sounds like you could use a spa retreat! Happy well rested mommy= happy baby!

  3. mkate

    Jen,

    I so hear you!!!! I agree with Danielle. Book a spa day or a cheap hotel and just sleep, sleep, sleep. Your little pumpkin will be fine until you come back (and so will you).

  4. jerseygirl89

    I’m a non-working mom and I too am SO tired. I’ve never been away from my kiddos for more than a night (except for the two nights I was gone having the second), but those rare nights off are what keep me sane – and rested.

  5. Pingback: Weaning « Baby, Toddler and Beyond

  6. Pam W

    When you are a mom, you are always tired, it is just varying degrees of fatigue. When I attend baby showers and they pass around the fill in “book of advise”, one of my entries is always, SLEEP when the BABY SLEEPS. I am met with resistance such as, well that’s the only time I can run the vaccum, take a shower, etc. If you think it’s tough now, wait until they are teenagers. IF you do not get enough sleep then, they will win, because they will be able to wear you down as they have been getting more sleep than you. I could not wait until my kids were old enough that I could go to bed BEFORE them. Then they start driving, and despite going to bed, you can’t sleep until you know that they are home (always give the curfew before last call). Now as I approach my 26th Mother’s Day. I’m still tired, and my youngest is 19. I empathize, but ask all who have the opportunity to change their sleep patterns, GET SOME SLEEP. Happy Mother’s Day to one an all!

Leave a Reply

