Remembering My Grandmother

Some may remember that my grandmother just celebrated her 95th birthday, unfortunately, she passed away this week and I will be attending her funeral tomorrow morning. I am still a little in shock and can’t believe she had really passed. I had begun to believe that she would live forever and I could imagine myself attending her 100th birthday party. I never imagined myself attending her wake and funeral but here I am.

My walk of shame this week would be sadness that I decided not to visit my grandmother this weekend. Omar and I had planned to take Becca to visit my grandmother on Father’s day. She had recently been hospitalized, although she had been doing  a little better, and I thought it was important to visit her.  But Sunday rolled around, we had had a busy weekend and I got hung up in the idea that since it was Father’s day, we shouldn’t be traveling (Don’t ask me where this idea came from). In any case, I figured I could always visit my grandmother this weekend, right? It wasn’t as if she was going anywhere. So I felt a little guilty about not going but I knew I would have another chance to see her. I never expected to be seeing her this quickly and in this manner.

I would like to light a candle in honor of my grandmother and I am going to be drinking a Beefeater Gin Martini w/ a dash of vermouth in her honor as well.

1913-2008

5 children

13 grandchildren

12 great-grandchildren

You’ll be missed.

With Much Love,

Mary Kate

4 Comments

Filed under Take a Moment, Walk of Shame

4 responses to “Remembering My Grandmother

  1. My grandmother died of lung cancer when I was 10 or so. Before she passed, we went to visit her at her home. She was very sick, dying. She never left her bed. I don’t remember the visit, per se, but I remember the last thing I said to her. When it was time to leave, I said “See you later”. I couldn’t bring myself to say goodbye. I regret that.

    Your grandmother knew you love her. That’s all that matters.

    I’m sorry for your loss. I feel for you.

  2. mkate

    Kate~

    Thanks! I know you are right. I actually feel a little better about it now. One of the great things about the funeral is I had the opportunity to share many of the great memories I do have of her and didn’t spend as much time discussing all of my regrets.

  3. Jen

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother. But it sounds like she had a wonderful long life full of friends, family, love, and laughter. That’s something to celebrate for sure.

  4. jerseygirl89

    I’m so sorry for your loss. But I’m sure she knew how much she meant to you and the rest of your family.

Leave a Reply

