Overwhelmed by Solid Food

John Patrick is now 6 months old and so……..

Here comes the exciting new world of solid foods. Yay! So what do I do? I’ve talked to my pediatrician, googled it and still I’m totally confused. I get that I should introduce one food every 4 or 5 days in order to check for food allergies. I also get that I should introduce green foods first to encourage him to eat his veggies (I’ve already broken this rule). But here are all my other questions about the stuff I don’t get:

1.) How much do I feed him a day? Keep in mind that he’ll eat until he explodes if I let him.

2.) Does this mean I don’t give him as much milk per day?

3.) Once he can have more than one food, do I give them to him in meal format? (For example, for dinner tonight you’re having green beans and bananas?)

4.) My pediatrician suggested that I start giving him water in a sippy cup. After I picked my jaw up off the floor I wondered… how many times a day? When is he supposed to have water? Cold water?

5.) Does this mean I should be taking solid food to his daycare now too? I usually take 4 eight ounce bottles of milk per day. Does this mean that I don’t take as much milk or the milk quantity stays the same?

6.) What are some good containers for all this food if I need to take it to daycare?

7.) He’s had rice cereal, what other cereal should he try next? When is he technically a “stage 2” eater?

Obviously, I’m solid food challenged. I feel like an idiot but for some reason I just can’t wrap my mind around how this works. HEEELLLLLPPPPPP.

drowning in tiny jars of mushed pears,

Jen

5 Comments

Filed under Baby, health, Solids

5 responses to “Overwhelmed by Solid Food

  1. mkate

    I felt really overwhelmed with solid foods as well. I don’t have all the answers~ so hopefully others will chime in.

    1. I would start with one meal a day– maybe around
    “dinner” time (because that will be an easier time for you to deal with). If I remember correctly, I started with about two oz of cereal. When I got to first stage foods, I tended to do half a jar (probably about 1/4 of a cup).

    2. I would keep his milk intake the same until he is eating 2-3 meals a day. Initially, solids are about getting used to the taste and texture of the food and are not about nutrition (formula/breast milk will continue to be where he gets the bulk of his nutrition until about 12 mos).

    3. I’m not sure what you mean by “meal format”. But once Becca could eat more than one food, I would try to mix it up (rice cereal and bananas, bananas and squash, squash and rice cereal) to give her some variety. I didn’t worry too much about keeping ‘breakfast’ foods with breakfast or lunch foods with lunch.

    4. Is your PED trying to transition John Patrick to a sippy? If so, I would just offer it to him throughout the day and not worry about the amount. I had been told not to give water to a baby so I am not sure about this (are you still breastfeeding, doing formula or doing both?~ I think that might make a difference).

    5. This is really up to you. If John Patrick seems to be doing well with solids, I would probably send one jar a day to daycare.

    6. I would probably just use the babyfood containers. Or else, you can get some really cool containers at BRU or buybuy baby or even a Bed,Bath and Beyond. I don’t have any in particular to recommend.

    7. There is rice, barley, oatmeal and a mixed cereal. He should be introduced to all of them because they tend to be ‘fillers’ in other baby foods. I found that Becca moved into Stage Two pretty quickly. Look at the Stage Two foods and see if John Patrick has been introduced to it. If so, he can now eat it in the Stage Two version. The difference in Stage One and Stage Two is that Stage Two is slightly thicker and the jars are bigger and therefore slightly less expensive.

    Take it as slow as you need to. You have six months before he will be really depending on solids for sustenance….

  2. mkate

    I just wanted to add– that you can always check at Daycare. They often have great advice on how to deal with the various transitions that occur (solids, potty training, napping)

  3. Hi! It is very overwhelming. I was just looking up stuff for Eliza. There are no real rules because every baby is different. This site has been very helpful to me. http://www.happybabyfood.com/HBpopDailyDiet.html I have just started making home made food for Eliza. She is about to turn nine months so I am upping her cereal servings. She gets three meals a day. Breakfast and dinner have cereal (rice, oatmeal, or multigrain). She gets fruits and veggies at every meal. I often mix the fruits and/or veggies in with the cereal.

    http://www.happybabyfood.com/HBpopDailyDiet.html

  4. Great information – thanks Mary!!

  5. breakfast foods should always be high in protein and also in carbohydrates, we need food energy during the early morning ‘~-

Leave a Reply

