Happy 95th Birthday, Grandma!

My family had a family BBQ to celebrate my Grandmother’s 95th birthday this past weekend.  It ended up being a beautiful day at my Aunt’s house which meant that Becca had a chance to run around with her cousins (this is one of my favorite memories as a child– running around in the backyard with my cousins).  My grandmother looks really great although she doesn’t remember much and becomes easily overwhelmed at parties.

I found myself feeling nostalgic as I looked at her and reflected on all that she had seen in her lifetime.  She was born before WW 1, was just becoming an adult when the Great Depression hit and suffered from a severe bout of Tuberculosis.  She also had five children (including a set of twins), 13 grandchildren and 10 great grandchildren (with another arriving somewhere around June 9th). I created a family tree to place in our “grandchildren” scrapbook and found that her “tree” was overflowing and I needed to get creative with my “leaf” placement in order to fit everyone in.

At my grandma’s party, I also had the opportunity to flip through the rest of the “Grandchild” scrapbook and compare it to the one that we had created for her 90th birthday.  It was interesting to see what everyone had included in their page and neat to see how our lives had changed within the past 5 years.  There have been quite a few marriages and a number of additional babies born within the past few years. Omar and my last page was about our wedding, our travels and our adventures.  This page was about Becca and more Becca and even more Becca.  I can only imagine what our next scrapbook page will look like!

Once again,  Happy Birthday, Grandma!!!  May you continue to be healthy and happy 🙂

Mary Kate

3 Comments

Filed under Take a Moment

3 responses to “Happy 95th Birthday, Grandma!

  1. jerseygirl89

    What a great tradition! That sounds like a wonderful way to pay tribute to your Grandma.

  2. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Creel.

  3. Pingback: Remembering My Grandmother « Baby, Toddler and Beyond

Leave a Reply

