Scraping Becca’s Leg

Do you see the black kid’s tray on this stroller? The easiest way to get Becca into the stroller is to swing the tray open, place Becca in the seat, buckle her in and then swing the tray closed and listen for the click. Since Becca has been walking, I have done this dozens of times without any problem until today.

This morning in the hub bub of preparing for the park and strapping Becca in, I managed to scrape her leg with the plastic tray. It made me sad to see the little tag of skin and then to see Becca’s face crumple into tears.

Mommy Did That!

Fortunately, I don’t believe it will do any permanent damage but it definitely put a damper on our morning.  On a happier note, Becca is currently  walking around the living room with the phone to her ear saying, “hello!”, “hello!” and laughing and chattering to herself.  Since misery loves company, I would love to hear others’ experiences with this.
Mary Kate

3 Comments

Filed under Toddler, Walk of Shame

3 responses to “Scraping Becca’s Leg

  1. Experienced damaging my child? You bet!

    When Caitlin was two, she was totally excited about spinning. Spinning and spinning and spinning. All was well, until one night, while I folded laundry, she spun next to me. I watched her, looked away to grab another shirt and then CRASH! She landed face first either into the edge of the doorway or into the heat register and broke her tiny little nose.

    OK, I didn’t do it directly, but oh the parental guilt!

    She was fine and her nose healed straight, so it’s all good. The shirt I was wearing then still has two tiny drops of blood on it from where I picked her up and held her to my shoulder. Poor thing!

    Becca will be okay. Just wait for the running and spinning injuries!

  2. mkate

    Ouch! Glad to hear that she healed well! So far (crossing fingers) I have managed to avoid breaking anything. However, I have clicked her leg skin into her car seat buckle a few times and managed to knock her over a few times 😦

  3. Oh my, when Abby was about 3 months old, I caught the skin between her thumb and first finger in the click in pieces to her vibrator seat. I am still not sure how it happened, because I always checked first (evidently not this time) Needless to say, I called my husband in tears …

    -Kate, I posted the Play dough recipe you requested on my blog.

Leave a Reply

