Appreciating the Library

This week is National Library Week  which means we should all take a momoent to appreciate our libraries.  Omar, Becca and I have spent quite a bit of time at our local library and definitely make use of most of its resources.  

Library

As a Work-At-Home Mom, former teacher and mom of a toddler, I love-love-love my library.  I remember when I first moved to the suburbs, I was thrilled to learn that the library was open until 9 p.m. Monday-Thursday and open most weekends.  In the city, the libraries within walking distance of my apartment usually closed by 6 p.m. and were closed on Sundays.  When I was teaching, I would often swing by the library after work to pick up some books from my class.  On a few rainy weekends, I have incorporated the library into our errands to give Becca a chance to play and read a little bit.  

When I moved here, I was also thrilled to learn that my library card was honored in all of the libraries in my county including the local community college.  Since moving here, Omar and I (and now Becca) have made the trek to many of the county’s libraries.  Right after Becca was born, Omar and I became addicted to House, M.D. so we made a bi-weekly trek to the one library in the area with the 2nd season of House, M.D. on DVD.  We have also checked out all of the children’s rooms within a 20 mile radius of our house and know which ones are a separate room from the main library and which have the best selection of toys. 

Now, as a work-at-home mom, I often will use the library as an escape from my home office.  In fact, I am typing this in my local library. I find that working at my local library (or community college library) helps keeps me focused and prevents me from becoming distracted by the need to do a load of laundry or unload the dishwasher.  My local library even has an “adult study room” which adds an extra dimension of privacy and even allows me to make a few discrete cell phone calls, if necessary.  My local community college’s library has allowed me to conduct a variety of research on education and social work topics. 

I also have been known to bring Becca and my mother-in-law (Becca’s daily caregiver) to play in the children’s section of the library while I get some work done.  This was especially helpful in the grey winter months to counteract Becca’s cabin fever.  I usually could get some writing completed while Becca happily played.  When it was time to head home, I had usually completed enough work that I could spend some quality time with Becca.  

Children's Library Room

Mary Kate

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Toddler

3 responses to “Appreciating the Library

  1. Oh how I love books!!! I want to have a huge library in my house one day!!

    Oh to dream!

  2. I didn’t know it was national library week. That makes me a BAD Kindergarten teacher. Good thing it is only Monday. I LOVE my library and I go there all the time. I can’t wait until Eliza starts to appreciate it more. Great post!

  3. mkate

    Dana- I agree! I love books as well.

    Danielle- I have a feeling you will figure out a way to work this into your week and your kids will have no idea you didn’t know. You will have to let me know what you do with your students.

Leave a Reply

