The World Went On Without Me?

As I slowly get back into work, it fascinates me that the world just went trucking right along while I had a baby. I know that sounds crazy but there are more than a few times when I’m in a meeting and I want to yell “but I had a baby!” And honestly, it serves me right. I am admitting that I used to be one of those people that would think, “ok, great, you had a baby, can we get back to work now?

I’m now publicly apologizing for those thoughts.

It’s so completely strange going back to work. I’ve only been gone a few months but I feel like an entirely different person. My priorities, worries, stresses, and joys are so different. I can already tell that it’s going to take me awhile to get used to the new me. Right now I’m out of sorts and trying to get used to the fact that the world really didn’t stop when I had a baby. Strange, it sure felt like it did.

Jen

5 Comments

Filed under Baby, Mom Issue, Take a Moment, Work

5 responses to “The World Went On Without Me?

  1. Cara

    Isn’t it crazy how quickly the meaning of life changes?! It has been over a year and I am still trying to figure out and be ok with the new person I am that now has a totally different set of priorities. Am I letting myself down in some areas to be happy in others? Can you really have it all? I don’t know, but am trying to figure out what ‘having it all’ in my world means!! 🙂

  2. My first comment was eaten. I totally agree with you. Having a baby totally changes you and your priorities. It takes a while to adjust- but I have found that my priorities are very different now.

  3. MommaOnTheRun

    Your whole world does go upside down. It is hard to take when the world doesn’t change as quickly as you did.

    It is easy to critize when you haven’t walked in someone else’s shoes…. I remember not being very patient with “people with kids”. Now, I have them and I want people to understand… Maybe it is some form of “what goes around, comes around”.

  4. mkate

    I totally agree. It is a whole new world. I remember driving home from the hospital with Becca was the strangest experience. It was the same highway and bridge that I had traveled a 1000x yet it felt completely different- and it is.

  5. Jus

    He he… Yeah i felt the same way too when gg back to work.. I beamed each time my colleague asked me how’s your baby?

Leave a Reply

