The T.V. Walk of Shame

I can truthfully say that until about 15 months, Becca didn’t know who Dora was, couldn’t name any of the Backyardigans and had never been exposed to Barney. HOWEVER, she could bob her head to the theme song of Ellen, knew the Desperate Housewives and had her own theories on LOST.

Yep, I admit it. When I nurse Becca, I tend to watch one of “my” t.v. programs (Top Chef, Medium, Law and Order) and we even upgraded to a DVR to increase the likelihood I would have something to watch. Until recently, I figured she was oblivious and had no idea what was going on behind her.

More recently, I have noticed that she will ‘pop-off’ to look behind her and see what is going on. I have also noticed that when she wants to nurse she will say, “teeeee veeee” and ask for “arriba” (upstairs) because that is where I nurse her (upstairs, in front of the t.v.). So I think she may be over the oblivious phase and I may need to be just a little bit more careful about what I watch in front (or behind) her.

As always, please share your current walk of shame via the comments or by posting a link to your own blog.

Mary Kate

6 Comments

Filed under Breastfeeding, Toddler, Walk of Shame

6 responses to “The T.V. Walk of Shame

  1. My son used to know when project runway was on by the opening music. Kinda pathetic, I know. It was like my one escape at certain moments to turn on Bravo and watch a PR re-run. We have since moved on to Blue’s Clues now that he is 2 and can tell me what he wants… I definitely prefer Project Runway.

    I blog for Chicago Moms Blog and saw your e-mail this morning so I thought I would check out your blog- Welcome!!

  2. Liz

    Yep…my kids and I swap shows, too. Except, it’s sort of gets weird when I say, “Gosh, but that Take Home Chef guy is cute,” and your oldest replies, “Yeah, he’s hawt!”

    Sounds like you’ve got time to deal with that, though.

    Welcome aboard New Jersey Moms Blog.

    Adding you to my Jersey blogroll!

  3. I don’t have any of my own shows that my kids know that well, since I usually watch mine when they’re asleep at night. (They’re 3-year-old twins).

    However, I used to feel guilty that I would put on a show when they were cranky as this would usually quiet them down. Now, I don’t feel so guilty. Sometimes it’s just a matter of sanity. 🙂

    I’m a SV Moms blogger and saw your intro email. Welcome!

  4. Ouch! I have often made up for a late night session soothing a fussy baby with watching programs that I didn’t want the other kids to see or that DH would hate like BBC sitcoms. Lately I’ve been watching The Tudors on DVD while “rocking the night away”. I hope baby’s not picking up any bad habits from the randy court of Henry VIII and his queen’s raunchy ladies in waiting! Hmmm…maybe earplugs would be a good thing? I certainly don’t want baby’s first words to be “Off with her head!”!

  5. Jerseygirl89

    I know exactly what you mean. As mine got older, I figured Supernanny would be safe. Now Ironflower actually asks for it because she loves to see the “naughty kids”. Oops.

    Plus, thanks for the email I will be checking that out as soon as I’m not feeling so behind.

  6. MommaOnTheRun

    Survivor. I watched it with both of my kids.

    Also, When I was pregnant with my son and my daughter was three, I would put on Dora in order to lay on the couch for a minute. It was a necessary 30 minutes of rest.

Leave a Reply

