More Travel Tips

Well, we successfully lived through our first airplane trip together. And it really wasn’t that bad. I learned a very important lesson from it all. It is that I can do this. I can be a mom and take care of him and handle sticky situations. I feel a little more confident now (till the next big milestone anyway).

Here are some things that helped me while traveling:

  • Definitely take a window seat if possible (especially if you are breastfeeding). It just gives you more privacy.
  • Wear your easiest nursing top that doesn’t show stains. I found the logistics of breastfeeding challenging at times and I was glad that my top didn’t show all the “stains” that can happen from careless breastfeeding.
  • Take your time! Let everyone else get off the plane first. Don’t rush. As soon as I accepted that everything is going to take a lot longer, my life got a lot easier.
  • I carried John Patrick in a Baby Bjorn and didn’t even bring a stroller. It was easy but be prepared that you can not have him in his carrier during take off or landing. I just held him on my lap.
  • John Patrick had no problems with the air pressure. I made sure he was sucking his pacifier during take off and landing.
  • Lastly, my friend Sarah always brings earplugs for nearby passengers just in case her little one gets a little too loud.

I was a nervous wreck leaving for the airport but I can honestly say, it wasn’t bad at all. It’s just one of those things that once you do it, it’s a piece of cake. Well, until he’s walking that is – YIKES.

Jen

3 Comments

Filed under Baby, Infant, Travel

3 responses to “More Travel Tips

  1. Cara

    So glad all went well!!! Yea!! 🙂

  2. Thank you for your articles.
    It’s a very good tips.

  3. Hi!

    These were excellent tips. I especially liked the one about bringing ear plugs to nearby passengers. I’ll remember that the next time I fly with my kids. Can I share one of my own tips? Consider tying any toys together. Trying to reach them on the floor with a baby on your lap can drive you insane. Much better to just pull one of the toys and reach all.

    /Paula

Leave a Reply

