Adult in Disguise

I was trolling the internet looking for a suitable quote for a project I am working on and came across the following quote:
Another belief of mine: that everyone else my age is an adult, whereas I am merely in disguise.
Margaret Atwood, Cat’s Eye, 1988
I always wondered if I was the only one ‘playing’ at being a grown-up.
 
How about you? Do you feel like a grown-up?
I would love to hear your reactions to this quote or hear other quotes that are meaningful to you.
Mary Kate
4 Comments

Filed under Mom Issue

4 responses to “Adult in Disguise

  1. hmm… i keep thinking of this… and its getting scary as my mind wonders… are we ‘playing’? its scary… but.. i have this in my head everytime when im not sure where im at…. this is how it goes… ‘ dont trouble, troubles, unless troubles troubles you’.. but that it just a thought..

    …. do i feel ike grown up? sometimes NO…:(

  2. jenmurtha

    It’s funny. I thought I’d feel like a grown up when I got married. But I didn’t feel different at all. Then I thought I would feel more like a grown up when I had a baby. But nope. I feel just like the same person. I look at women my age or even younger and think, ‘she’s a grown up’. But somehow I just feel like I’m pretending to be grown up. Great quote – I love it.
    Jen

  3. mkate

    I’m glad to hear that I am not the only one who feels this way. The weird thing is that others treat me as an adult– I have definitely had the reflexsive urge to check over my shoulder when people refer to me in a grown-up way.

  4. Jerseygirl89

    I love Margaret Atwood.
    I totally identify with that quote. Even as I pluck gray hairs.

Leave a Reply

