Inventions All Parents Need

Tonight I really could have used one or all of the following gadgets:

  • Parent Recharger– power cord that allows a parent to plug themselves in and recharge after a long day (or night).
  • Power Off Switch – switch on baby or child which shuts him/her down for the night (without any fussing).
  • Reset Button – the ability to power down and start over when the baby/child is having a meltdown.

I hadn’t seen Becca all day because I had left before she woke-up in the morning. So when I got home, she was extremely excited to see me. As the night wore on, she became more and more giddy (she has developed this hysterical belly laugh and she cracks herself up when she uses it) and just wouldn’t settle down. As soon as I walked into her room to put her to sleep, she would become very squirmy and try to wiggle out of my arms. At the same time, she was rubbing her eyes and yawning. It was clear that she was fighting sleep with everything she had. Since I had been up since 4:45 a.m., I was also fighting sleep which meant my patience resources were extremely limited. Just when I was hitting the end of my rope, I sat down in the glider with her, took about 12 cleansing breathes.  As I sat there, I found myself fantasizing about different inventions which would make my life a little easier.  Becca definitely needed some assistance ‘powering down’ and really could have benefited from a simple on/off switch.  Fortunately the rhythmic rocking did its own magic and Becca finally relaxed and drifted off to sleep.   I think her batteries must have finally worn down.

Mary Kate

Leave a comment

Filed under fun, Sleep, Toddler, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

