Foiled Again!

velcro-bib.jpg

 

Becca isn’t a huge fan of bibs and usually whips off the Velcro bibs in a matter of seconds. When I was doing most of the feeding, it wasn’t such a big deal. I made sure I kept a few wipes handy and wiped her down as often as possible. Even when she started eating finger foods, it wasn’t too bad because most finger foods aren’t too messy (cheese, bread, cut-up vegetables).

tie-bib.jpg

Now that she is insistent on feeding herself everything including yogurt, applesauce, and spaghetti with sauce , it is a much bigger deal. For her, feeding means to mash it up, swirl it around, load up the spoon and twirl that around. It isn’t unusual for her to have mashed up banana-blueberry-applesauce on various places of her shirt and pants in a matter of minutes. Since I haven’t been doing a great job getting the stains out of her clothes, I have decided that I need to find her a decent bib.
coverall-bib.jpg

So at a recent stop at Buy Buy Baby, I perused the bib aisle to sit what I could find. Unfortunately, most of the selection were Velcro bibs and wouldn’t work for us. A friend had advised that I try the bibs that tie but I couldn’t find any in Becca’s size. There were a few ‘shirt’ bibs but I envisioned a huge fight as Becca resisted putting her arms into the bib. Finally, I saw a t-shirt bib that I thought might do the trick (it looked similar to the one in the picture below). It looked like it would go easily over her head and shouldn’t be too easy to get off.

towel-bib.jpg

 

Later that night, we were sitting down to dinner and I remembered the bib. I ran into the kitchen, grabbed the bib and quickly took the tags off. I then walked up behind Becca and quickly slid the bib over her head. Without blinking, Becca reached up, grabbed the bib, pulled it over her head and calmly handed it back to me. She then continued her meal by placing her veggies into her glass of milk and drinking it. Yummy!

Mary Kate

Leave a comment

Filed under Solids

Leave a Reply

